Not On Me

Not On Me

Here is the second of November’s non-rhyming poems. This poem also features probably the most pathetic picture I’ve ever drawn. Sorry about that.

‘Not On Me’ is about a first world problem I have experienced far too many times recently.

Not On Me

I was never one to keep score
Or a record of wrongs
As though we were incapable
Of living by grace

But need breeds thrift
And a gift is not so easily declined
Or offered

A moment of serenity
The sun drips through the skylight
And trickles onto my face
Washing away the tension the wind whipped up

Cracked, the moment shatters
Broken by a voice
An innocent question

Ok Sir, a medium Belgian chocolate creamer
With whipped cream and chocolate sauce

That will be £3.20
Do you have a Costa Card?

Yes, is my reply
But not on me

And the sun is eclipsed by the moon

I'm counting the Costa of leaving this at home

I’m counting the Costa of leaving this at home

Leave a Reply

