Maurice UnRaveling

Maurice UnRaveling

For November, I’m going to post a non-rhyming poem every week! Pretty much all of my poetry rhymes so this may not go very well. We’ll see what happens.

Music is a wonderful gift. I am almost constantly listening to music of some kind but, every now and then, a song or piece of music comes along that is so beautiful that you find yourself incapable of functioning whilst listening to it. This can sometimes have unfortunate consequences.

Maurice UnRaveling

A chord of four strands
Binds my hand nowhere in particular
But anywhere other than my pen

Binds my eyes closed
Hoiks my brow up

Binds my lips together
Pulls air suddenly through my nose

Binds all the neurones in my brain
But those with square receptors

Until it snaps

Then my hand scrambles for the page
As my eyes fly open
This is due in at 5
But my brain just fell out of my bum

The cause of many a last minute submission

The cause of many a last minute submission

Leave a Reply

