An’ A Beer Lee

An' A Beer Lee

One of my all time favourite poems is Annabel Lee by Edgar Allan Poe. It’s a tragic but beautiful love poem with a wonderful, lyrical rhythm. Being such a beautiful poem, I thought it would be perfect for the third of my drink related parodies of famous poems.

An’ A Beer Lee finds the young lover of Annabel Lee replaced by a young drinker on holiday with his mates, buying booze from a bartender named Lee. His friend falls behind but he drinks on. I really don’t recommend binge drinking in the slightest but that is pretty much the theme here.

An’ A Beer Lee

It was many and many Summers ago
In a hostel by the sea
That I said Three whiskeys, a blue lagoon
A Jägerbomb, an’ a beer Lee
And my best mate, he lived with no other thought
Than to drink, and get drunk, with me

He was a child, and I was a child
In this hostel by the sea
But we drank with a thirst that was more than thirst
Two more shots an’ a beer Lee
With a thirst that the age’d drinkers of Devon
They coveted him and me

And this was the reason, as all lads know
In this hostel by the sea
That the bile poured out of his mouth by night
Stifling his An’ a beer Lee
So that our rowdy mates all came
And bore him away from me
To lock him in a bathroom
In this hostel by the sea

The drunkards, not half so hammered in Devon
Went envying him and me
And that was the reason, as all lads know
In this hostel by the sea
That the bile came out of his mouth, spilling
And stilling his An’ a beer Lee

Yes, our stomachs were stronger by far than the stomachs
Of those who were older than we
Of many far wider than we
And neither the angels in heaven above
Nor the demons down under the sea
Could ever dissever my hand from the side
Of my new, badly forged, fake ID

For Blue Moon never beams
Without bringing me dreams
Of peculiar sorts… An a beer Lee
And the tabs never rise
But I see the old guys
As they’re slurring out An a beer Lee

And so all the night tide, I lie down by the side
Of my vomit, my dignity, self-worth and pride
Deep in a stupor there by the sea
In my room by the side of the sea

I had a pun but I forgot it.

I had a pun but I forgot it.

Leave a Reply

