Aliens

Aliens

It is a year to the day that I posted my first poem on this blog! My goodness how the time flies! This month, I’ll be posting poems that were inspired by books and poems that I have read and enjoyed! One post a week will be a literature inspired creation, the other will just be random.

This first poem was inspired by a book that I am currently only 3/4 of the way through. Consider Phlebas is the first epic novel in Iain M. Banks’ Culture series. Iain M. Banks wrote the craziest, most phenomenally wacky, and, above all, enjoyable science fiction novels I’ve ever had the pleasure to read. They’re full of crazy aliens with weird names doing weird stuff in weird places. This is my second tribute to Iain M. Banks. It finds an unnamed hero, recently returned from his space adventures, watching a spaceship race with lots of aliens.

Aliens

The people round the telly
And those sat at the bars
Are actually aliens
Who’ve gathered here on Mars

To watch the latest races
Taking place on some old sun

This is what aliens like to do for fun

Just back from my adventure
Fighting Preqouins on the moon
And Obructsees with jaliprons
And Dibs from Shelmasoon

I stare up at the mega screen
And with a rush of pride

I know that I could beat them if I tried

I hop into my Hypership
Engage the black hole drive
I shimmer then disintegrate
Don’t worry, I survive

I’m remade ten light years way
And join the light-speed race

‘Cos I’m a citizen of outer space

There are some very Ood characters in space.

There are some very Ood characters in space.

Leave a Reply

