Desert Dunes

Desert Dunes

A couple of years ago, for lent, I set myself the challenge of writing a poem a day. I managed ten before giving up. Most were completely appalling. Desert Dunes was far from the worst but is really really bleak and depressing. Hope you like it.

Desert Dunes

Camel carries on commission
Humps to tackle malnutrition
Deep into the desert dunes
He grumbles and he sighs

Walking through the scorching weather
Camels rarely walk together
Swishing up his bushy tail
He bats away the flies

Humps all sagged, their shape is wrinkled
Every inch of skin is crinkled
With each drop of water left
The wretched camel cries

Far from grass and far from water
Far from Sue, his camel daughter
All alone, and with a choke
Another camel dies

My humps, my humps, my humps, my humps

My humps, my humps, my humps, my humps

Leave a Reply

