My Birthday

My Birthday

Today is my 21st birthday! Woohoo! This poem is, in case you hadn’t guessed, about a birthday! It’s not about my birthday (despite the title) and the person in the poem is much more of a partyer than I am but I thought it was appropriate for the day anyway. What makes my birthday particularly exciting this year is that I handed in the final pieces of work for my degree yesterday and had my last day of teaching so I’m finished at uni (excluding graduation)!

My Birthday

It’s my birthday
But it’s way better than that
Girl come closer
Can you see my party hat?

Count the candles
That’s how long I’ve been alive
Fire hazard
Don’t know how long I’ll survive

Piles of presents
Piles of futures and of pasts
I’d unwrap them
But I really can’t be arsed

People singing
Wishing me a happy day
Party starting
All my mates are on their way

Birthday drinking
As I swing my birthday hips
Drunken babble
As I move my birthday lips

Let’s go shopping
Make our way round HMV
Then we’ll go home
Play some Wii sports on the Wii

Order dinner
I am fiending a chinese
Chicken Chow Mein
Ooh you got me on my knees

It’s my birthday
But it’s way better than that
Girl come closer
Can you see my party hat?

It begins

It begins

Leave a Reply

