And I Shall Have A Chai Latte

And I Shall Have A Chai Latte

I’ve been reading quite a bit of Dylan Thomas‘s poetry recently. One in particular, And Death Shall Have No Dominion (sorry for the poor formatting on that site,but it’s hard to find the poem online), which tackles the themes of death and immortality, has instantly become one of my all time favourite poems. I wanted to find a way to pay tribute to this incredibly powerful poem.

For a long time now, I’ve also wanted to pay tribute to my favourite hot drink; the Chai Latte. It’s just so sweet and delicious that I can’t order anything else when I go to a coffee shop. Thus was born ‘And I Shall Have A Chai Latte’. I have tried to maintain the serious and dour atmosphere of the original poem, while introducing a much less serious topic. This is the second of my drink related parodies of famous poems, the first being The Lady Grey of Shallott. The third will be posted in due time.

And I Shall Have A Chai Latte

And I shall have a Chai Latte
A still and sweet ocean I take in hand
The milk froth’d massimo, creamiest friend
Bubbles on lips shall leave their trace
As the bleary eyed drinker wipes his face
Cinnamon sprinkles dust the head
Melting into their soft cloudy bed
Though creamers be lost cream shall not
And I shall have a Chai Latte

And I shall have a Chai Latte
Coffee shop tables are sticky with spills
As bursaried students loose the spoils
Sat in the corner I nurse my Chai
Alone to consider the joys of the day
The first intimations of hunger they sate
Syrups with weight in stomachs sit
Fill all ends up I shan’t snack
And I shall have a Chai Latte

And I shall have a Chai Latte
Memories flow as thick as foam
Of moments spent with hand to mug
If drinks had ears for words of grief
Of fumbling infatuates or prayers to relieve
The things they’d hear of the things I’ve said
Warm and welcoming here by my side
Shut in my heart til my heart shuts down
And I shall have a Chai Latte

Chai-me flies when you're having fun

Chai-me flies when you’re having fun

If you wanted a sip, I'm afraid you're too latte

If you wanted a sip, I’m afraid you’re too latte

Leave a Reply

