Sing Me A Christmas Carol

Sing Me A Christmas Carol

It’s December! Which means it’s time for listening to Christmas music, reading Christmas books, and eating Christmas food. Now, obviously there is a whole lot more to Christmas than that. Christmas is, above all, a time to remember the arrival of Jesus Christ on Earth. Little baby Jesus who grew up to be big not-a-baby Jesus and died in our place despite the fact that we really don’t deserve it.

Unfortunately, my poetry doesn’t lend itself to telling that side of Christmas tastefully so I won’t try and tackle it in rhyme. I reckon it’s ok for us to enjoy the sillier side though. In fact, I think it’s awesome! This poem/song actually comes from a dream I had a few weeks ago in which some people were putting on a Christmas musical. This short verse is all I can remember from the song. There was only one song in the whole thing which was just sung again and again in different contexts with the word ‘brother’ changed to ‘mother’ or ‘lover’ etc. It was a pretty awful musical.

Sing Me A Christmas Carol

Sing a Christmas carol to me brother
Sing a Christmas carol to me friend
Sing me a Christmas carol
As I sit on a whiskey barrel
And may this Christmas carol never end

My poetic talent was dead, to begin with

My poetic talent was dead, to begin with

Leave a Reply

