The Bean From My Hands

The Bean From My Hands

I was mindlessly doodling in a lecture when I decided to put my pen down and review what I had drawn. What I found looked something like the picture above. A small lizard standing on top of a fish and holding out a small, black object to a disembodied head. I decided to try and work out the backstory. What exactly is going on in this picture? It took me a while but I’ve finally worked it out.

This poem explains what is happening but also has a message. Sometimes we have to risk looking like a fool to achieve great things. Sure, sometimes we end up horribly embarrassed. We may even spiral into crippling social anxiety and never have any human interaction again. It might even be so bad that we die of shame. Actually, it’s not worth the risk. Play it safe guys, play it safe.

The Bean From My Hands

The leathery lizard flew in on a fish
And said to the face, ‘I will grant you a wish
If you’ll only come back with a bag or a dish
And take this bean from my hands’

‘Take this bean from my unworthy hands
This kidney bean from my sun-scorched hands
This tasteless bean from my withering hands
Just take this bean from my hands’

The bodiless face rolled it’s eyes in delight
And said to the lizard, ‘I’ll take it alright!
In return, I wish only to sleep well tonight’
Then he took the bean from his hands

He took the bean from his misshapen hands
The purple bean from his blood-stained hands
The wretched bean from his trembling hands
He took the bean from his hands

You are not allowed to wish for more beans

You are not allowed to wish for more beans

Leave a Reply

