The Everything Amputee

The Everything Amputee

I was thinking a while ago about amputations. If somebody had to have a lot of amputations in one go e.g. Both arms, both legs, bit of the tummy or whatever, could it reach the point where there was more of them in the bin than there was ‘left’. What if you kept going? At what point would it become too far? What if you just removed everything? This poem explores the possibility of complete person amputation.

The Everything Amputee

I’m sorry ma’am, the surgery went wrong
I’d thought in 20 minutes we’d be done
But though his lungs were tough, his heart was strong
We sadly had to amputate your son

The legs and arms and bum and head went first
Attending surgeons did their very best
The chest and belly left were gently nursed
But then we had to amputate the rest

I realise you’re already in pain
And though I know this will be hard to hear
I feel compelled to tell it to you plain
For now your son is merely an idea

I actually save a fortune on clothing. I just wear a giant sock

I actually save a fortune on clothing. I just wear a giant sock

Leave a Reply

