The Man Who Gave Birth To Hitler

The Man Who Gave Birth to Hitler

Ok, so posting my second poem to feature Hitler is a risky move. It definitely has the potential to make me look like a fan of his but I’d like to stress that this poem was inspired by an entirely different event to ‘Hitler On Toast’ and Hitler’s involvement is just an unfortunate coincidence. This particular poem was inspired by something my friend said. It was a Monday morning and he was very tired so he can probably be excused for the ridiculousness of his statement. His exact words were ‘I’d hate to be the man who gave birth to Hitler’.

It was silly. And this poem is just a silly exploration of the life of the man who gave birth to Hitler. It also shows that any of us could have given birth to Hitler. Even if you knew that your baby was going to grow up to be Hitler, could you stop loving it? I don’t know what I’d do or feel in that situation but I have no immediate plans to give birth to Hitler so hopefully I’ll never have to find out.

The Man Who Gave Birth To Hitler

If I gave birth to Hitler
And set him on my knee
I’d wrap him in a velvet sash
And then I’d set him free

If I gave birth to Hitler
And lay him in a bed
I’d cover him with glitter
And hold him by the head

If I gave birth to Hitler
And kissed him on the cheek
I’d share parental custody
And see him twice a week

Coming soon, to a cinema near you

Coming soon, to a cinema near you

Leave a Reply

