Me And My Belly

Me And My Belly

Today, my two posts share a similar theme. Bellies. Bellies can appear for a number of reasons. Booze, food, and laziness being three obvious examples. Food in particular is a trap I often fall into. Sure tomatoes are very nice and pretty and all, but a slice of tomato in a huge, greasy burger is a hell of a lot sexier.

Being fit and healthy is obviously a great idea but bellies are not necessarily evil. Great joy can come from bellies if they are put to good use. This short poem tells the story of a man who, laughing in the face of possible shame, uses his belly to entertain the nation. It was inspired partly by one of the few acts I ever watched on Britain’s Got Talent. The show is usually a boring collection of tediously generic singers and dance groups but Stavros Flatley stand out as probably the most original and hilarious acts in the history of the show. The funny factor of their act is due, in no small part, to their bountiful bellies.

Me and My Belly

Me and my belly
We’re not very smelly
But we’re both looking pretty well round

But me and my belly
We’re jiggling on the telly
And now we’re seen all around

I have successfully cross-bred a chicken with a tomato! I give you... Tomeato!

I have successfully cross-bred a chicken with a tomato! I give you… Tomeato!

Leave a Reply

