When I Forgot How to Love

When I Forgot How To Love

 

Everybody loves love. Well, everybody who loves loves love at least. This poem, however, is dedicated to a man who loves love so very much that he is convinced that the effect of the absence of love would be the complete collapse of reality. No, this is not some invented character of mine. Jon Anderson was the lead singer of the prog rock band Yes for many years. He’s completely insane in a fairly sweet way. He sings about love a lot, but one song in particular (If It Wasn’t For Love) teaches this particularly apocalyptic message. This is my tribute:

When I Forgot How to Love

When I forgot how to love
My life fell apart
My legs blew off my body
And they fell into my heart

My hands turned into milk
The milk poured into the fire
The fire of love went out
And the fire of hate grew higher

My bottom was inverted
And drawn up into my mind
My body flew into itself
And left the world behind

The children of the mountain
All turned into Fred Astaire 
The moon fell out of orbit
There was no one left to care

The ground shook in an earthquake
As the sun burnt out above
The universe collapsed
When I forgot how to love

Phil Collins has been trying to remember how to love since 1981

Phil Collins has been trying to remember how to love since 1981

Leave a Reply

