A Medic’s Sonnet

A Medic's Sonnet

A Medic’s Sonnet is written from the perspective of an undetermined medical professional. It tells how love can find us even in the most desperate of circumstances but there are certain times that it may not be appropriate to articulate those feelings. We should also be wary of seeing love where we should, in fact, see head trauma. Be warned, this poem is a wee bit graphic. And by a wee bit I mean really disgusting.

A Medic’s Sonnet

Of all the trauma patients I have known
Not one had touched my heart til I touched yours
A stinking mess of blood and flesh and bone
I rushed you through the automatic doors

You looked at me and softly threw up blood
Both food and flesh spewed out in great abound
But lovingly, I cleansed your wounds of mud
And stemmed the flow that sweetly stained the ground

You grabbed my wrist and shed a tear of love
A love that left you paralysed and blind
You delicately tore my sterile glove
With all the grace of Venus you flatlined

And in that little hospital in Hull
My heart broke as completely as your skull

Hey girl, you don't need a stethoscope to hear my heart but I took my top off anyway

Hey girl, you don’t need a stethoscope to hear my heart but I took my top off anyway

Leave a Reply

