The Worm is a Bird

The Worm

 

This month marks the return of Kate Bush to the stage! On 26th of August she will again tread the boards of the Hammersmith Apollo and perform live for the first time in 35 years! Kate’s music is full of the most wonderful stories and hypothetical situations. What if you were a kite? What if you were Houdini’s wife? What if you could experience what it was like to be a firework? What if you danced with a charming man and discovered the next morning that he was Hitler? What if you could use an offering of your own blood to bring a snowman to life for one night of passion?

Ok, so the less said about the snowman thing the better, but the point still stands. This poem is a tribute to the imagination of Kate Bush and asks the question, what if we could see the world through the eyes of an earthworm?

The Worm is a Bird

You said you admired the earthworm
It’s grace and simplicity most
I said that I thought you were crazy
Such strange admirations to host

You said not to judge all too quickly
I said I was sure as could be
You said Spend the day as an earthworm
And then, just like me you will see:

The worm is a bird
That sails through the ground
It flies through the Earth
With seldom a sound

I wrapped myself up in your clingfilm
I slimed myself up with KY
I took to the soil in your garden
And swiftly I started to fly

I flew below roses and tulips
I slid beneath daffodils too
I wriggled my way past the parsley
And then, just as you’d said, I knew:

The worm is a bird
That sails through the ground
It flies through the Earth
With seldom a sound

Bird

You try any of that ‘worms are birds’ crap round ‘ere and we’ll cut you

One thought on “The Worm is a Bird

  1. Pingback: Kate Bush Tickets | Ben's Bad Poetry

Leave a Reply

